Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.

Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The topic we are given is easily debatable one. It claims we can learn more from the people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own. As a reason, it states that disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning and I completely agree with that.

It is true that when we disagree with some ideas it intrigues us to think more about the topic and find out actual true facts and reasons behind it. If we propose our ideas to the like-minded people and the people whose views we share, it is most likely possible that they will readily agree with them even though if there are some flaws. For example, in parliament, if we would only have the ruling party and all the bills are passed based on the votes of ruling party members, the bills which are passed would never be neutral. As we have the opposition party as well and their vote is also needed to pass a particular bill. All the pros and cons are debated and judged by both the parties which they claim as true. Which gives the opponent to seek more facts to support their claim and in return they are exposed to acquire more knowledge that provides a great learning.

Furthermore, contradicting ideas always compel us to go beyond our current leaning and to prove that the view which we hold is not wrong and sometimes it comes out as that the view we hold is not actually correct. That leads us to acquire the actual facts and reasons which increases the values of our knowledge and learning.

In conclusion, it is very important for one to go out their comfort zone and present their views to the people with whom the ideas differ and should consider the facts why they believe their views are true and look for the valid reasons if there are any. In this way, one can learn more and enrich their knowledge.