Company management should conduct routine monitoring of all employee e-mail correspondence. Such monitoring will reduce the waste of resources such as time and system capacity, as well as protect the company from lawsuits.

The amount of company interference that should be involved with employee interaction and inter-personal relationships has been a contentious point of debate for some time now. On the one hand is the sentiment of giving free reign to the employees over what they can do during working hours(as long as they're getting their work done) to potentially create a more friendly and amiable working environment. On the other hand, however is the position that employees need to be monitored and overlooked during office hours, so as to pre-empt a number of problems that can naturally arise if a group of employees is left unchecked. I share the latter sentiment, and believe that employee monitoring will not only reduce the waste of valuable resources like time and system capacity, but also be better for the employees.

The most obvious benefit of introducing a monitoring system to check employee e-mails is that it directly dissuades employees from using their office hours to lounge about. This is directly going to benefit the productivity of any employee and of the entire work-force as a whole. This will also result in better and more timely service provided to customers, resulting in more profit for the company, which is essentially the goal of any company.

Employee inter-personal relations will also be helped if such a system is put in place where people in competing departments, say sales, don't get to use their official email accounts to call out or speak ill of other employees in their department. Monitoring will also forestall any potential lawsuits the company might have to face because one of its sales employees decided it was a good idea to send an email to a client directly lambasting a competing company's product.

While it's natural to assume such a working condition is too harsh for an employee to work in, I believe it's going to help them in the long run. Work should be separated from entertainment and gossip, and implementing such a system works to imbibe this lesson in the workers, not just for office-hours, but one they'll need for life.

Such a system, when correctly implemented, can also be complemented with added breaks/activities for employees, as a reward for increased productivity, which a direct antidote to procrastination, and can help people lead a more well-rounded and fulfilling life.

All in all, I support such a monitoring system as it's going to benefit the company, the customers, and most importantly the employees as well, both personally and professionally.