The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:

Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

The letter complains about the the new cafeteria management and the low-fat food they serve, and argues that offering 'healthier' food is going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches, and cause serious consequences for the students. The letter, however, leaves a lot of questions which would make the argument reasonable completely out of the picture.

The argument uses a very small sample size of students to argue that the food vendor should be replaced. The parent mentions his son, and his son's friends- and that's it. It's entirely possible that a number of students, or even a vast majority of the students prefer the new vendor. So the most obvious question that needs to be answered here is what the majority of the students think. If an authentic survey of the students, and their preference of food, including whether or not they like the new vendor was presented, and it was found that most students do indeed dislike the food, it would make the argument and it's prediction that students are going to face health-consequences, more reasonable.

But this isn't the only hole in the argument. The parent assumes that the enjoyment of a meal is directly dependent on how fat and calorie rich it is. That is often not the case. A lot of healthy food is considered tasty by a lot of people. So if the argument can reliably answer the question of which low-fat foods that are served are avoided by a majority of the students, and what unhealthy food they go for instead, the prediction becomes more palatable. It could be the case that students just prefer one type of food just because of its taste, unrelated to its nutritional value.

A balanced diet is incredibly important for a school-going child. If the cafeteria is serving a balanced diet, and the students are avoiding it just because of its taste, then that is going to harm the students directly. The parent needs to find what food is actually being served, what the weekly schedule is, and if it's well-balanced or not. If the served food is indeed well-balanced, then perhaps the parent should try to convince their child to eat a balanced diet to stay healthy, instead of complaining about the food, and eating unhealthy lunches. And maybe that's what happened with the other students, and they don't buy unhealthy lunches. If the parent can show that a majority of the students are indeed buying unhealthy lunches from outside the cafeteria, then the argument becomes more reasonable, and the principal would be more inclined to take measures to bring better-tasting food into the cafeteria.

Unless these questions are answered, the argument is incomplete and will have difficulty achieving its goals.