Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented above.

Morality and integrity are the cornerstones of a society- those that are principled and veracious tend to be more successful in the long run, both in terms of their standing worldwide, and the intra-society relations. As such, it's important to try and implement a system from the ground-up that emphasizes and encourages these qualities, so the individual can benefit and be a better member of the society, and the society as a whole grow because of it.

Morality, however, isn't a quality that can directly be imparted by teaching it rote. Not only is doing so a waste of time that can be used to learn practical skills, it's also going produce individuals who can't think independently, and overall create more conflicts than it solves. Logical reasoning is the way forward when it comes to education.

Basing education on morality and neglecting logical reasoning could deprive students of the logical and reasoning skills needed to survive in today's world, where technical skills are at the forefront of the requirements in the job-market. A solid base of reasoning skills can help individuals perform better in their endeavors. A financially stable society, it's often seen, is much more tolerant and peaceful than those where a large number of citizens are economically backward.

Morality isn't something to be taught like a subject. Doing so will make the learners depend on their textbooks and teachers, and make them incapable of thinking for themselves while making decision.

Teaching people how to think logically can help them not only understand, organize and articulate themselves better, but also other people's thought process. Teaching students how to have healthy discussions is the foundation of producing a moral society, where conflicts can be resolved peacefully through talks.

Moreover, moral values can be different in different societies, and without the force of logic to temper them, can cause conflicts between the different learned morals that people are taught from the get-go, the morals they may not have learned the skills to question or analyze.

All in all, to create a more tolerant, civil and moral society, teaching a foundation of logical reasoning and allowing people to think for themselves is a better alternative to directly teaching people morality.