A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument made by the pet food company has a logical basis, but suffers from several loopholes, and the company jumps to a conclusion without considering all the possibilities.

After recalling the food, the company is mentioned to have tested 'samples' from the food. There's no mention of the size of the sample tested. If only a few cans were tested, it's entirely possible, if not likely, that this sample size was too small, and that other cans could have caused the illnesses. If the food tested was too little, their conclusion that the food was not responsible for the symptoms because they tested it fails unequivocally.

Also, testing the food for its individual chemicals isn't a fool-proof method in any sense. Those chemicals, even if they're approved for pet-food use, mixed in certain combinations and proportions with each other, could turn out to be harmful. The company states that it determined all the chemicals found, and these tests were likely performed in a lab of theirs, with some specific environmental conditions. Taken to higher or lower temperature and pressure, those same chemicals can react in different ways to produce more chemicals, which would slip through this test. So, if the company shipped the food to different places with different environmental conditions, which it probably did with 4 million pounds on the market, it can't get away with testing the food for individual chemicals under their laboratory conditions, and will be held responsible for the symptoms as a result.

In addition, there could be a problem with certain methods of storing or serving the food, which aren't mentioned to have been tested, which are causing the food to get poisoned. The company needs to test the food under non-ideal storage and serving conditions, before it can claim to be free of the responsibility of invoking the symptoms in pets.

Overall, before the pet food company can ensure that the above conditions have been met, they can't reasonably assure anyone that the recalled food was not responsible for the pathological symptoms.