Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Once legend said single piece of paper cannot decide my feature. In the given prompt it is given that competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all level of education. In my not so humble opinion, I mostly agree with the statement for following reasons.

To begin with, in today’s world competition plays important role in our life. From childhood we are thought that if you want to live in this world then you should be at the top and this journey of competition begins from the school. In the school students are thought to get good grades instead of important concepts it’s blatant that grades matter but by doing so quality of learning is contracting day by day. For instance, if certain students memory power is good then he will be treated as intelligent person because he remember all the answer perfectly but no one sees his concepts, teachers don’t care about his/ her concepts maybe his concepts or understanding is week but due to good memory power he is succeeding to get good grades.

Secondly, there are some students in our society who have tremendous knowledge and there concepts are also clear but they are not able to put that on paper, if they are not able to put that on paper then it’s blatant that they will not get good grades. Such type of people will be ignored by the teachers as well as society because they will think that this kid is getting poor grades so he must be dumb but in reality he is the most intelligent person around. For instance, one can exemplify Albert Einstein was kicked out of school at the age of 9 because he was not able to speak fluently and teachers thought he is very slow in learning, but afterward his invasion chance the world.

Finally, competition for high grades is fostering students to learn how to get good grades instead of clearing there concepts. Students are working to make their memory sharp by trying to remember each and every answer given in reference book word by word only to get good grades they don’t care about concepts. This practice will cause debacle in long run. It will only exacerbate the situation in the feature because they will only have theoretical knowledge no practical knowledge. When they will try to apply their knowledge in real world most of them will fail tremendously because their concepts are not clear.

In conclusion, I think competition for high grades limits the quality of learning at all level of education and practicing to get good grades without understanding the concept may lead to debacle.