Educational institutes have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The author claims that educational institutes should be responsible to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed. At the first glance, one would approve the statement since it would serve a useful function, since it not only assists the students in their future careers, but also lead them to be a successful person in their society. At some point, however, I disagree with the author’s claim. I think intervening in the students’ personal life, by persuading them to make a specific decision about their personal life and their future, is neither reasonable, nor fair.

One compelling argument in favor of the author’s claim is that guiding the students to follow a way, in which they are more likely to succeed, and give them a broader insights and horizons for the future, would not only help the student to save time and money, but also might encourage them to know themselves better. Considering that education needs significant amount of time and energy to become a expert in one specific field of study, such guidance from educational institutes, in my opinion, are precious; hence, worth taking more seriously as well as disseminating globally. Moreover, once the students are well-informed of the possible end and status to which they would reach by pursuing a specific field of study, they are, actually, given a chance to know themselves profoundly, by discovering their true interests, by believing in their talents and their skills, and by enriching their general knowledge about those fields of study. In short, the author’s claim would serve a valuable purpose for the students.

Even lending more credence to the author’s claim is the consequences of the recommended course of action for societies. One needs look no further at job market to realize the role of students who follow their study to a higher degree. First of all, higher education is expensive, in that the students often work on industrial projects and advanced laboratories doing experimentation; thus, one need ponder over what field of study to choose. If chosen carelessly, one not only might regret in the future, but also put heavy financial burden on his or her parents. Secondly, a successful and burgeoning society needs experts in various fields of study such as engineering, social science, medical science, etc. The balance of a society would be disturbed if students all tend to pursue specific fields of study and discard all others, yet necessary. Hence, society can also benefit if the educational institutes guide the students in choosing their field of study.

Admittedly, there are some disadvantages regarding the author’s claim. Firstly, some people believe that choosing a field of study is entirely a personal matter, in which the government, teachers, or even parents should not intervene. Voting for the freedom of choice in today’s democratic societies, the student should be allowed to pursue their interest, in which case, people believe, the students would be more successful, and would do a superior performance in their studies. What’s more, the sole purpose of education, especially in personal aspects, would be undermined if the students are dissuaded to pursue a specific field of study. Why? Since the students should learn to make important decisions for themselves, regardless of other’s opinion. However, this assertion should not be misconceived with consultation with others, especially teachers at educational institutes. To clarify, the students at school should learn to be responsible for their future and make such vital decisions on their own. Moreover, they must become independent as well, which is one critical part of the education process. After all, in weighing the pros and cons, it seems that the advantages outweigh the drawbacks.

In sum, both the students and the society would benefit, in my opinion, if the educational institutes persuade the student to pursue a field of study that best fit their personality, skills, and interests. Thus, I agree with the author’s claim. Nonetheless, one must admit as well that some major drawbacks can be mentioned against the author’s claim. In the final analysis, I believe that the benefits far outweigh the drawbacks.