Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

“All a person needs is money to live a happy and prosperous life”.This sentence is excessively used to lure children into pursuing fields which in future could guarantee them a good job and career.But does every child views success as just acquiring money?Well,given the population and diversity that currently prevails in every corner of the world,this statement cannot be held as true for everyone.

Enforcing or encouraging students to just choose fields which could bring them good returns in the future is in a way neglecting the other areas of study,which a child maybe interested in taking up even as a hobby or something that interests him/her.For example:A child has been encouraged by his parents to take up engineering because that might help him get a good package and a secure future but he wanted to be guitarist,in this instance the child still might take up engineering but that was not something that he wanted to do in the first place. Success also means happiness and if the child does not enjoy what he does then even the prospect of a lucrative future would not make him successful,completely.

The main aim of educational institutions is all-round development of a child and not narrowing down the options he/she has while choosing the fields they want to go for.A child should be exposed to different fields so he must be ready to take on the challenges faced in everyday life in the outside world.Constricting them to a few fields undermines the very basis of the idea on which educational institutions are developed.A lot of ‘successful’ people are someone who were flexible with the subjects they took and who were willing to explore other fields too.Albert einstein did not pursue regular schooling rather he was home tutored and was he a very rich man?probably not.But he is still one of the most celebrated scientists of all time and that is success too.He learnt and pursued what he wanted to rather than taking up a field which could have made him more opulent.

Some might argue that encouraging children to choose fields of study( which will eventually result in good financial gains) on the big picture will help the economy of country to prosper.But at what cost?Also,not going for conventional fields does not mean that they cannot acquire wealth and help the economy.There have been numerous musicians and artists who have made large fortunes.Beyonce and Jay Z,both singers,have a combined fortune of over a billion dollars and have millions of fans all across the world.

To sum up,children are like clay,they can be shaped up in any way their elders want them too.To help them pursue what their heart wants,irrespective of what possibilities it holds in the future ensures long term happiness.If a child is passionate about pursuing something,he/she will eventually become successful in the field they undertook.It is important to support them at every step they take and to expose them to eclectic streams,leading to holistic development.