Young people should be encouraged to pursue long­term, realistic goals rather than seek immediate fame and recognition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

With the onset of several reality shows which “provides” a platform for children to showcase their talents, an increasing number of children are auditioning and driven towards such kinds of shows. Kids as young as 3-4 years of age are made to participate and garner votes for their performances. This new found obsession with early fame and money and moreover peer pressure in schools to follow what their classmates are doing has ruined many childhoods.

It is of utmost importance that children should follow their dreams and promoting their passions and talents at a young age does have marvellous effects in their later life. There have been numerous athletes who have broken records,national and international,just because they have been training for it for so long. Practice does makes a person better. Similarly, there have been many child actors or teenagers who went on to join a reality show or a tv soap, who did taste success at first but the industry changes everyday and they somehow could not make up with its pace and were forgotten.

Pursuing something one is passionate about with realistic goals would always give better results then going after immediate recognition and fame. There have been numerous businessmen and women who are in reality highly successful and still not very popular. This is choice which each individual makes up for himself. For example: Lakshmi mittal, the business tycoon, might be the richest person in united kingdoms but you would not see him making headlines everyday. On the contrary, the newspapers these days are full of reality show winners or participants and newcomers in the movie industry etc.

One main problem with attaining immediate fame is the fear of losing it. Most people who seek overnight recognition are afraid of losing it all with time and when that does happen it can lead to that person incurring serious psychological problems such as depression. Also, anything that is immediate is temporary, just a few lucky ones are able to sustain it for long. Whereas long, realistic goals are a secure way to move into the future.The risk of losing anything is far lower in this case than the immediate one.

Schools can play a vital role in teaching young minds to continuously work hard in the field they love. Everybody faces some ups and downs in their lives and if a fellow person achieves instant fame and recognition, it is nothing to get discouraged from. Everybody has different ambitions and different ways to live their lives. Working toward building a solid future would definitely have greater returns than going after temporary achievements.