Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The laws of a country bring orderliness to the county. To maintain this orderliness, these laws must be obeyed whether just or unjust, laws are also made to protect us sometimes even from our own ignorance.

One can argue that not all laws of a country are reasonable or just. For instance, a law that says all workers should pay tax of fifteen percent of their salary income, a single mother that earns $1500 monthly is to pay $225 of it for tax when there are other bills to pay, children to feed, fees to pay, gas to buy and so many other things. We can argue that such law is unjust. However, these bills must be paid to enjoy social amenities, like good roads, electricity, water and so on, I suggest the children of the single mother can go to a public school to be eligible for grants and other financial benefits to reduce cost of education.

Moreover, the laws made are not made to put anybody at disadvantage, they are made to maintain orderliness. Imagine a country without laws, or a country that has laws and are not being followed, a country like Nigeria for instance. A country where people believe they are above the law. In Nigeria, a driver must be at least 18 years of age to own a driver’s licence or be behind the wheels of a car, but you see people younger than that from a wealthy family driving round the road, nobody to question them. This is not orderliness.

Also, laws are made to protect us. There’s a law that says a law that says no parking at an area at a particular time, is sometimes made to made to protect us from either ourselves or other dangerous thing that’s likely to happen. The place might be an accident-prone area, it might be known that 80% of the accident that happens on that road is caused by the parking of a vehicle at that spot. But unknown to you the reason of the law, you feel the law is unjust.

In conclusion, the all laws of the land must be obeyed irrespective of the position you are to maintain orderliness