Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In our contemporary society, law is considered to be the minimum standard for every citizen to follow and can be applied unanimously in all situations. Due to this characteristic, it is not an easy task to establish a flawless system by lawmakers. Consequently, there exist so-called unjust laws. To obey just laws and to disobey and even resist unjust laws may seem to be plausible and beneficial to the society, since the public opinions can put pressure on the government to adjust laws and enhance the administration of justice to some extent. However, the real controversy behind this claim is that how to differentiate justice and injustice. In other words, the law which is logical to one person may be unjust to the other. Personally speaking, I cannot agree with this claim since there is merely a one-size-fits-all criterium to judge a law by its justness.

Just imagine the circumstance that everyone has their own criteria to decide whether to obey a law or not by their subjective consideration on how impartial this law is. It is not difficult to foresee the disastrous consequences. Take one prevalent example of drunk driving. In China, government is putting increasing emphasis on driving regulations. Once a driver caught drunk driving, his/ her driving license will be suspended by the police officer, and the driver may even be imprisoned depending on how seriously drunk he/ she is. This new regulation was in force only recently, and I could still remember clearly how tumultuous it was the public opinion on this new law. Though the majority agreed with punishing drunk drivers, some people still thought the punishment was extremely harsh. If those drivers who disagrees with this law and regard it as their responsibility to rebel, there will be no peace on the road.

In our daily life, there will be even more conflicts if everyone has the right to resist the laws only because they think the laws are unfair or unjust. For example, in the business world, there are laws to restrict companies to have monopoly power. Due to the fact that monopoly power can give any company the capability to set the price as they want, monopolies are seen as the devils to consumers. If some companies argue that they only have this power because other business runners cannot satisfy customers' need, and consider this law is biased to their devotion and purpose, this will result in customers' suffering, companies' collapses and eventually the paralysation of the whole economy. The other example will be the law to protect the young generation from the tragedy of child labor. For those greedy and self-interest companies, they undoubtedly think this law as a barrier to maximize their profits. If they regard this law as unjust in terms of minimizing their cost, no children in developing countries could survive from being exploited.

Let's take this claim even further. Let's imagine ourselves living in an ideal world that every single one of us has the perfect logics to make the right judgement on what is just and what is unjust. The consequences for the unjust laws should not stop at being disobeyed or resisted but being discussed and changed. As our society evolving so quickly, we have already seen some outdated laws being changed due to the public's voice. As an advocator of cyber security and data privacy, I feel delighted to see new laws are published by the EU government on GDPR after the Facebook chaos, because public's voices are so clear in this situation for more righteous laws.