Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Have you ever thought about the influence of the school programs on your further development in the life? What would it have been if you had had opportunity to cover the outside world without this pressure from the educational system? Would you have been more open-minded and enthusiastic one or even more talented in the artistic way? The statement linking our personal traits and the formal education of the modern world plays on the assumption of the stereotyped approaches which have been used over the last century. Let take a closer look at them.

Indeed, the briefest reflection on the school and university systems reveals that the formal education has already formed the same approaches to translating the knowledges over the world – reading the books, listening to the lectures, repeating and again repeating the material over the course can be met in any school or university. At the same time omitting out the personal characteristics and dispositions has made its deal in way of not customizing courses to persons and giving to everyone the same draft of knowledges. By way of example, each school participant has to make the same physical exercise and take the same physical exams for getting the proper score. There is the same situation in sphere of math or literature, for instance.

One might point out as well that there is a pressure to be as everyone and getting the same result in each discipline. Not getting the highest scores in these spheres in the school means not entering the top universities (where by the way you are supposed to study the clone-disciplines again) and not getting the lucrative job for making for living.

Having created such form of the formal education the authorities of countries restrain the minds and spirits of the young generation in some way, but at the same time they give the equal rights to everyone in the system. Given the world has been developing at unprecedented scale over the last century, there would have been a chaos and much higher level of inequality in the society in case of not giving the standard of the education for the further generations. Meanwhile, there is the process that has already been started by English and American colleges over the last decades. In the frame of it customizing the current courses to the different types of pupils accounting for their enduring dispositions/traits and also their phycological conditions takes place.

Moreover, one might argue that there is an undeniable necessity to account for presenting of informal and non-formal education in our lives. There are no the required structures and the formal ways, however the demand of the creativity, the flexibility, the person-concentered approach and the environmental-based views can be easily found here. The formal education is powerful, so are the nonformal and informal ones. Never in the recorded history have the human beings been as widely educated as it is today. Given the fact that over the thousand’s years only the nonformal and informal approaches were used and just the 20th century has become the leader of formal education, it might be concluded that exactly the formal education in the conjunction of the other two types was a trigger for significantly growing level of knowledges over the populations.

In conclusion, it can be said that the current forms of education are undoubtedly the most powerful and successful in the history of our civilization. Having grouped and analyzed all mentioned above, it could be predicted the further modification of the systems in the more fruitful ways. There is no need to retreat to the Luddite attitude to the modern education, rather than to find your own balance of the formal, nonformal and informal education for releasing your potential.