Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The recommendation made that governments should invest as much in the artes as in military does not seem to be practical in real sense. While it is true that investing in arts will boost the morale of the artists, tourism, etc, certain other factors and problems in the country that are vital need to be addressed first.

Consider the example of a developing country like India. India is one of the top arms importers in the world. This like any other issue in India is a necessity to address treats to the country like cross-border terrorism and to balance the domination of the militarist powerful neighbouring countries. Likewise therre are several other problems in India like poverty, poor infrastructure, low literacy rates, etc. These issues are more vital to the progress of citizens and the country than the artistic influence or advancement. While on one hand, artistic advancement would merely enhance tourism and aesthetics, on the other hand, addressing and ameliorating issues like poverty, illiteracy, etc would serve to improve the quality of life and the standard of leaving of the citizens thus would also increase the tax collections and productivity of the country which is more beneficial. In a nutshell, arts not being vital to life need not be prioritized over other fundamental issues.

Another example where investments in art are not a priority are in countries like Indonesia. Indonesia has a high rate of people affected by HIV-AIDS. This is a major cause of concern for their government since the disease as no solid cure as of now. The affected person can live a long enough life provided he/she receives medication at the right times. It is thus the government's priority to procure such medicines and make them available at subsidized rates so that everyone can afford them. In case the government would divert those funds and invest in arts as much as in military, which ususally is a significant amount, these vital drugs would not be available to everyone and thus would be a grave concern with grave consequences for the country.

Thus having looked at the above mentioned examples, it can be reasonably said that arts can not be prioritized over the fundamental and a vital issues like healthcare, poverty, sanitation, etc. While an affluent and advanced military is essential in protecting the integrity, sovereignity and independence of the nation, within the nation, addressing and investing in the vital issues is more important than investing in arts. Only when these vital issues are addressed, then other less crucial areas like arts, sports, etc should be invested in.