Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

It is a highly subjective perception that dreams are inherently selfish. While some may perceive a certain dream as selfish, others may see it otherwise. Thus I personally feel that the claim is based on a reason that lacks a holistic approach. So I disagree with the claim and the reason on which it is based upon.

Furthermore, the advice to "follow your dreams" is based on various reasons like the individual's passion and thus the capability to work for it thus ultimately making him capable in that field. Consider the example of Steve Jobs. He was admitted in one of the prestigious institutes in the country. So naturally as per his foster parents, the worthy goal for him would be to for him to study sincerely, finish college and then get a decent job and earn money. But instead he chose to follow his dreams and passions. His dream and passion was innovation and he strived hard to pursue that which is what made him good at it. It can be hardly said that his dream was selfish since the outcomes that came of him pursuing his dream revolutionalized the technology present at that time which benefitted not just him but everyone. His legacy born out of his dreams, still lives on to be the most valued technology company in the world.

Another fact is that a person's dream can also be tantamount to a worthy goal. For example, one of my cousins has recently started a company that provides high quality seeds to farmers that reap export quality crops which he himself buys at a decent rate from the farmers and then exports a part of it and sells a part of it domestically. He is from a middle class background and his dream from the beginning was to be an entrepreneur. He followed this dream and created a business model which was not only beneficial for him but also for the farmers. Earlier they were neither able to procure good quality seeds nor able to sell their harvest at a decent price. Thus it can be seen that while he followed his dream, in its course he also achieved goals which were not only worthy and much needed in that scenario, but also beneficial for him as well as the farmers.

Thus from the above examples it can be understood that people's dreams are not inherently selfish and not just themselves, but other people can also benefit from them. Worthy goals can be set in the course of following one's dreams that are beneficial to others too and not just themselves. Also when an individual follows their dreams, he is passionate about it thus something of value can come out of it whereas if they weren't passionate about it then the outcome would be lacklustre which won't be beneficial to anyone. Thus broadly speaking, the advice to "follow one's dreams" is a good one and valid.