The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

While the argument is based on a reasonable premise that offering tuition waivers for the professors' children would surely play a part in enhancing their morale as well as their gratefulness towards the university, there are several other factors that have been condoned while basing the argument.

Firstly, the research is said to be conducted by Oceania University but the method or approach of conducting the research is neither mentioned explicitly nor implicitly. There is no mention about answers to questions like who did the survey? How credible is the source? How diligent was the questionnaire? Who were the subjects of the survey? Under what conditions was the survey carried out? etc. Thus we have no way of finding out whether this particular survey can be applicable to Seatown University as well since we cannot compare the conditions or parameters in Seatown University to that of the surveyed universities/professors.

Secondly, the only factor mentioned in the premise and the survey is the 'free tuition for college-aged children of the professors' that is responsible for retention of the professors. This is a very parochial approach since other factors are not considered. There may be several other factors that can be responsible for retention and boosting the morale of professors like the working conditions, basic salary, accommodation or other compensations, research opportunities and facilities, the prestige or reputation of the university, the management of the university, etc. These and many other factors that could be responsible for retention are not taken into consideration and thus we have no way of knowing whether only providing free tuition would be sufficient or not to retain the professors and to boost their morale.

Considering the above mentioned factors and others like whether the children of professors actually are able to qualify to get admitted into Seatown University or the level of satisfaction amongst the professors currently being unknown, I feel that the argument is poorly based. These other discussed factors must be taken into account before implying or implementing anything based on the argument.