Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Governments ought to fund any scientific research whose aim is to advance society. Though the consequences may be unknown, it is the essence of conducting a research to elucidate which still has not been understood. Nevertheless, it does require a tedious assessment of risks and benefits and strict regulations.

The above argument undermines the cardinal role of research studies which is to discover and clarify a mechanism or a cause of an unknown event. As such, the core of research relies in conducting studies which, depending on their validity, will reveal facts which eludes humankind.

The government behooved to fund research which sought to cure member of our society. Indeed, many disease, though the mechanism has been elucidated, still require to find a cure. Malady, such as Parkinson disease, is extent enough among elders to necessitate a cure and at the very least, ameliorate the symptoms the patient experience to have a better quality of life. Therefore, even though the risk of certain procedure or medication may still be to discover, the risk may outweigh the benefit and as long as the patient is provided with a thorough consent it is appropriate for the government to take action. Certainly, research has been conducted in animals such as rats or monkeys, whose genetic and physiology closely mimic that of humans providing some overall safe expectation of the result.

Secondly, government role in education research is quintessential. It is incumbent on providing adequate education and standardize testing. Not only does it regulate the national curriculum and adjust it according to its intermittent assessment, but it also imposes standardize testing that evaluate the effectiveness of the measure installed. Though it does not have the ability to foresee the consequences of such action, this is aim to correct what is to be changed and maintain successful measures. It is through trial and error research that the society’s representative system make new rules and regulation that advances the national education system.

Finally, every research studies has it is limitation and if not kept In check can have a precarious effect on civilians. In fact, in history the German government itself has funded human research on World War II “prisoners.” Women have been aborted, organs have been removed and people have suffered horrifying death. It is the for this reasons that regulation need to be imposed that insured the safety of the population. International Review Board has been established to keep research in check and assure the research’s benefit not only outweigh the risk, but also maintain, at the very least, the safety of the participant.

The government’s responsability in funding research is unequivocal. It has the power to advance scientific discoveries that could cure the most elusive disease as well as improve the national education system for the welfare of the society. However, strict regulations on the research conducted is also the responsibility the government own to his civilians.