Some people believe it is often necessary, even desirable, for political leaders to withhold information from the public. Others believe that the public has a right to be fully informed.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

In the above statement, two strong positions are presented regarding providing full disclosure or withholding information to the public. In order for society and government to work as a unit, and efficiently, accurate exchange of information is required.

Political officials ought to disclose sensitive information, as detailed as there are, if they are to the beneficence of the people. Indeed, there has been relatively recent ecological catastrophes that have threatened our ecosystem and the health of our population. For instance, the BP oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico engendered significant loss of marine life due to the abysmal toxic fuels. To protect the civilians from those contaminated water, it is the responsibilities of political officials to inform the population of the course of events, severity and consequences of such event. In addition, through communication our leader may even benefit from the assistance of volunteer in such situation.

Additionally, as it is often said an educated decision is a better one. Considering all facts while contextualizing allow a more adequate solution or course of action to the encountered problem. When society vote for a bill to pass it goes to the congress, which have to approve of it. Abortion bills have been a hot topic as part of the 2016 presidential elections, voters could only side for or against it based on all the information that candidate presented in favor or against. Does it mean that by being informed, there will be a census? Certainly not as every individual is fed with distinct convictions and believes based on their own life experiences and values. Nevertheless, the parting with be based on an educated decision in which all views were considered.

Finally, delicate situations may require officials to make compromises by acting without informing the public of certain actions. As it is the case in France, terrorist attacks have increased over the past years. As part of a strategic move, which requires discretion, the police and secret services have to investigate to identify responsible criminals, accomplice and planned future attacks, therefore enabling public release of information which could compromised the situations. During Barack Obama’s governance, Osama Ben laden was apprehended during a secret mission which identified his secret hiding nest, rendering public announcement counter-productive to the success of this mission.

Politicians needs to communicate to the public information which rely on their beneficence and informed decision process, even though in some circumstances it may be imperative to withhold information temporarily until a secret mission if accomplished.