Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

scientific research requires alot of efforts. No one in this world, guarantees what the innovation's consequences will be, it can be a huge benefit for the society if succeed or it can fail miserably. innovation should never, as they are for benefits for all people in the world. government should always encourage new scientific discoveries because every great things required great efforts.

Reasearch is an area in which success is not guaranteed, it required alot of perseverence from scientists. if scientists are putting theirs efforts and just because they cannot guarantee it's consequences, the idea of not providing government funding's not valid. The inventor of bulb, thomas alva edison tries 1000 different ways before he successfully invented light bulb, which is a boon for human being. if not provided with necessary facilities, thomas alva edison might not be able to innovate bulb, which might result into the world in which people cannot see or read at night.

it totally depends upon humans to how to use the innovation. humans invented robots, to do all daily boring tasks. Since, robots are capable of learning anything humans would teach it, it can be possible that some of the humans might teach robots how to fight or how to use different weapons. robot are machines and they can be operated by other humans too. if some hacker hacks that robot and inserts a command to kill the humans, it can be possible that robots will start killing humans. Thus, it's humans who defines their use of the innovation. the inventor of RDX thought of using it as a way to create path between nations and unite all the nations, but it was used as a Bomb in a war. it's a perspective in which the usecase of the innovation depends.

In conclusion, scientific research are thought as a boon for the people, but it's always peoples mindset by which those innovations are used.