College students should be encouraged to pursue subjects that interest them rather than the courses that seem most likely to lead to jobs.

The statement given have two different views. The first one is based on own interest and other is based on the current trend and it's more practical. I am agree with the second statement, it doesn't mean that the first one is totally invalid. Passion would always help but there's also a need of being pragmatic and developing skills in demand in order to get a job. One should always follow their passion, but it should be practical as well.

College is an opportunity to learn and develop the skills. There are many subjects, which college offers to students, It now depends on students to chose subjects which are in trend. There are many fields to chose from in college. In engineering field only, there are mechanical, automobile, computer and many other branches to chose from. If a student is having interest in computer engineering, then he should chose computer engineering as their core branch, because it's his passion, which motivates them to participate and learn skills needed. Computer science only have many subjects to choose from like operating systems, networking, hacking, software development, etc. Now, it's student's responsibility to learn the subjets whose jobs are in demand, this is a practical choice.

To gain any jobs, it requires certain level of skills. It fulfills the company's requirnments.It's important to note that having a passion in job is also as important as learning new skills. Jobs are created to fit appropriate position, and passion in learning right field would ensure the jobs those are in demand.

In India, there is a big problem of unemployment, despite having maximum number of engineers passing out every year. Many of the students don't realize what their real passion is, they just went after craze of being an engineer and end up having no skills at all. Which makes them underqualified for the jobs. Identifying Passion is important in chosing right field, while being practical and chosing right skills to develop surely makes a person qualified for the jobs.

In conclusion, passion certainly helps, but it should always be used in a practical way, by keeping the demand in mind.