The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The speaker maintains that greatness of individuals only decided by retrospect, not by their contemoraries. In my view, I am strongly disagree with the speaker in some points because of the unwarranted generalization of the speaker. In some cases it is truth that greatness of a person only come after the time he or she lived. like in physical science, scientific theory, or something that need to varified in the future but in the sector of arts and business success is often come in the time of the nascent of creation and in other hand in business it is not certain that greatness of business come in that time or come long after from starting.

In most of the cases it is believed that scientific theory is not constant and in most cases needs further investigation to take that theory as a fact. There are many example found in the history of the science where it is observed that some theory get popular after the inception of the theory but in later time that theory proved as false and sometime it also happens that after the inception of a theory because of the lackage of proper evidence some theory got rejected by the comtemporaries but adored by the future generation when with proper evidence the theory proved as right. In some cases it is also true that greatness of invention not recognized by the contemporary because of less practical use of that specific theory, after a few generation when much more practical use of that theory occured. In theory it is not rare that after one hundred year after the inception of the theory get popularity and real greatness of that specific work recognized by the people of future generation not by the contemporaries of the individual who is the creator of that theory or work.

In case of arts it is truth that arts got recognized right after its inception and even got recognized in their early part of the life. Mozart got recognized right after his work popular in the his contemporary society. Pablo Picaso also got recognized and even got famous in his time. scientiest like Newton, Einstein, Stephen Hawking got recognized and counted as great scientiest in their respective time. In technology sector it also not rare that individual not got recognized by the his or her contemporaries. Steve Jobs counted as one of the genious mind of the twenty century because of his contribution in the sector of technology. Bill Gates one of the american super rich famous for his contribution in the sector of DOS and later WINDOWS that make path for the further development of computer that lead by the people of the america. Henry Ford one of the american business man got success in his living time and his invention created new america and world where car got much affordable than ever before.

Admittedly, it is not always truth that individual got recognized right after their invention or creation by something. In many cases converse example also found in the history of the man kind. From the very incient time it is believed that earth surface is flat but a great scientiest claimed that this believe because of that claim one of less famous scientiest's claim got rejectes in his time and after centuries today we know earth surface is not flat actually. In this case, it is right that individual's greatness revealed in future not in his or her time but it one aspect of the scene. Sports-- more specifically soccer, baseball, basket ball, tennis, golf and all other game greatness of an indiviual got recognized his or her prime time not by the retrospect.

In sum, it not certain that every works of individual got recognized by his or her comtemporaries and it is also true that not every person not recognized by contemporaries. In most of the cases it depends on the prespective situation and practical use of the work or theory of an individual.