The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Nowadays, there is a different point of the view about who can be the greatness of individuals. Depending on personal experience and beliefs, we may find that some people hold the opinion that greatness only can be decided by those who live after them, while others have an opposite attitude that contemporaries also can make the decision. As far as I am concerned, I disagree with the former statement. My view will explore by the following discussion.

Indeed, many greatest people were defined by the descendant. For example, the artists in Renaissance, the beginner of a country, and some of the CEOs in the biggest companies in the world are all the good instances to represent the topic of issue's statement. There is no doubt that sometimes people do not know what great people did at the time, and after a long time, when people try to understand that period of time, we just figure out that some people in that time really finished some greatest things, therefore, we admired about them.

On the other hand, sometimes descendants cannot have an objective judgment to ancestors because descendants might not consider the specific situation or environment which ancestors lived or met and use their own standards or value to make the reckless evaluation. Furthermore, taking descendants to judge who is the greatness of individuals might be wrong in itself due to the definition of greatness is based on the time and space background at the time, and different backgrounds of people, of course, have different thinking.

Besides, the basis for future generation to estimate predecessors only depends on the documents. However, no one can make sure that the documents definitely are right, because the documents still are the documents, which means we have few chances to obtain the information from documents and witnesses at the time same time. Moreover, we do not have the time machine, so we cannot jump back to see whether the documents are real or not. Hence, the completeness and substantiation of these records and documents and whether they are the judgment of other people also compromise the accuracy and objectivity of judging.

In conclusion, despite the fact that many descendants make many evaluations to ancestors, there are still many factors we should consider discreetly. Therefore, we cannot presumptuously believe the statement