The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Throughout the history of mankind, great individuals have been often time praised for their achievements and contributions to the society. Historians, news reporters, biographers and writers leave no stone unturned to acknowledge the struggles and feats of these personalities. But the question whether the greatness of individual can be decided only by those who live in later generations, not by their contemporaries is rather debatable. The thought that only people of later generations have the sole right or capability to determine the eminence of great humans is flawed due to a several reasons. Although, there are numerous cases when the significance of someone’s work gets realized after they have ceased living – leaving the matter of determination of the importance and impact of such a work to later generations – it makes no sense to completely rule out the role of contemporaries in judging one’s work.

Great individuals have always made efforts to make the world a better place to live. However, these efforts are results of motivation and inspiration of the individual, which spring from the desire to improve the current conditions of life. Every great scientist, author, visionary or eminent person in any field would want that this work has immediate impact and contemporaries are benefitted. Approval of his work by contemporaries not only gives him a sense of validity but the desire to contribute further. Gautama Buddha, as we know was one of the most influential thinkers and preachers of humankind. It is well known that his influence over people living during his physical existence was not as great as after his death. After attaining enlightenment, he had a small group of disciples to whom he used to preach his religion. He wanted to convey the truth of life and spread his religion to every human on this Earth, so that there would be no suffering. Although his group of followers increased as he grew old, there were many individuals and groups who rejected his school of thought. In contrast, after his death, with the progression of time his religion has spread over the entire Indian subcontinent and today Buddhism is one of the major religions of the world. But, what if his thoughts on reality and life did not receive any attention at all? What if he had no contemporary followers or disciples? It would make sense to say that it is the initial realization of people that gets further acceptance with time, even if the number is small.

Also, if your work is not being critically judged by your contemporaries, there is no scope for improvement. No one works blindly in the hope that it would just benefit a fictional, distant future society. One would not understand the limitations, viability and the applicability of his work. Albert Einstein‘s theory of relativity would not have received such acclaim had his theory not created so much controversy and debate since he published an article on it. Most of his contemporaries rejected his work as being great or were stubborn to overthrow the previous school of thought of classical mechanics. Decades after his death, as more and more scientists understood his theory, his fame and greatness knew no bound – today, he is touted as one of the most influential thinkers of the 20th century.

One would argue that the greatness of an individual gets tested by time if his achievements and contributions are glorified and acknowledged by later generations. In this case, I would refer to my earlier example, when Albert Einstein’s theory had overthrown Newton’s classical mechanics and Newton’s theory were considered invalid in many cases especially for small particles and cosmic entities such as black holes. Did that make Newton not so great? No. Newton is still considered to be among the greats in the field of science. Newton’s theory was accepted by his contemporaries because his theory was true in most cases. The fact that his work was novel for nobody had thought of physics the way he did at his time of existence and that it served as a framework and direction for further improvements makes him great. So, it is apt to say that that the contemporaries play a significant role in determining the greatness of an individual, although there might be cases where his greatness might be better understood by people of later generations. The bottom line is if someone’s work or thought or idea is relevant or pragmatic to a particular time period, whether currently or in the future, his worth will be realized.