If two applicants for a job are otherwise equally qualified, the job should go to the applicant with more experience.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain the resoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the specific circumstances in which adopting the position would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your positon.

"Practise makes a man perfect", rightly goes the famous dictum. While no doubt that an experienced candidate would be more favourable for a job position for two otherwise equally qualified applicants, I do not surmise that this would be applicable to all the circumstances ubiquitously and even-handedly. The eligibility of job may increase with the experience of the employee, but there are also cases where experience may not affect the suitability of the employee for that job and it may go as far as to that experience hurts the eligibility of the candidate negetively.

Firstly, the commonplace situations where the more the experience is, the better are the job prospects. In most of the jobs, experience is the most invaluable asset. The insights and learning gained during experience cannot be replaced by any academic or theorotical knowledge. For example, the job of maintenance of machines in a manufacturing plant like Tesla. No matter how scholarly you are, the true skills are harbored and developed with the experience of dealing with the breakdowns. Those insights form nueral connection in brains that gives a kind of intuition adn gumption of hacking the root cause of te problems. The only way it is developed is with experience. Therefore, if the company has an option between two similarly read people for a job vacancy, a more experienced person would be selected.

Coming to the situations wherein the job appropriateness is in no way affected by the experience. There are jobs whose requirements are skill which donot vary with practise or experience or time. They are kind of binary function. In the way that, either the person knows it or doesnot knows it. For example, operating a specific kind of machine. If the person knows how to do that, no matter if he or she is experienced or not, he would be able to do his/her job satisfactorily. In such circumstances, instead of opting for a candidate with better experience, other skills should be taken into consideration like, how honest the person is or how hard working he seems, his determination, his soft skills etc. These criteria would help in choosing a better employ for these kinds of jobs that are not a function of experience.

Lastly, there are some jobs wherein the experience can hurt. Generally these are the creative jobs which need a fresh outlook and out of the box thinking. For instance, an interior decorator or a painter. In such cases, we need innovative ideas which can be hampered by experience that makes the thinking very conventional and defined. These situations call for people with minimal experience but very creative mind, ingenious thinking and undefined vision. So, the more expedient choice for these cases would be an individual with less experience.

Summing up, although experience plays a cardinal role in suitability for majority of the jobs present in the market, making this rule of - more is the experience, better is the candidate- universally true to all situation is not right. There are jobs wherein experience may not count or may even be baneful to the job.