If two applicants for a job are otherwise equally qualified, the job should go to the applicant with more experience.

Unemployment and underemployment have become a hot-button all over the world especially among the youth. The cut throat competition starting from the school education to getting jobs is holding back and debilitating even the most talented and qualified candidate. Hence the authors claim of giving preference to experience applicant is not vindicated in many aspects. To my opinion this standpoint can be analysed and deliberated through case by case study.

Gone are those days when companies mostly used to prefer the experience candidate over the fresher. With the changing Corporate culture policy and work-force requirement the recruitment process of employees are changing. Hiring of any candidate is now based on various factors. A recent survey of one of the employee magazine states that Most companies especially start-ups tend to hire fresh candidate just passed out from university. Since these fresh are devoid of any stereotypes are easy to be trained and moulded as per the requirement, star up companies prefer to hire these fresher directly from campus that too after a rigorous interview and selection process. Even the MNCs and well establish companies now a days do mass recruitment of fresh applicants . these company then invest a good amount of money for their technical as well as corporate training .Nevertheless these investment are reduces much financial investment juxtaposition to high paid experienced candidate provided the amount of output from is almost same. Moreover fresh candidate are more enthusiastic have more alacrity of earning, thus works hard to get more and more technical and non-technical exposures which could be helpful for them in future.

However, there a various jobs position that require experienced one for example HR , MBA applicants etc.

Considering the fact that experienced candidate that have corporate maturity, they can handle the pressing situation in a better way. IT companies in America prefer the Master candidates having more than two years of corporate experience.

To sum the hiring of candidates can vary from one companies to other considering all the possible scenarios for example financial input, work nature and the expected outcome.