If two applicants for a job are otherwise equally qualified, the job should go to the applicant with more

experience.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and

explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should

consider the specific circumstances in which adopting the position would or would not be advantageous

and explain how these examples shape your position.

The author appears to be suffering from the same delusion the corporate world of today faces.While this issue is a two sided coin, lucid examples and scenarios can help understand this issue why there is no universally accepted norm or tradition.

Many Employers know that they will face this scenario when job applications come flooding down their emails.It is simply logical and fundamental that the applicant with more experience should be taken in which is unfortunate for the other applicants but this is how the cruel corporate world thrives, a simple analogy would be making the rich more richer.It is not the company at fault, but our mindset is as whenever we go shopping we always check the brands we are buying and of course we do check the reviews but the famous saying “old is gold” is almost ubiquitous and we always go with the more ancient and prevalling brand, whom we have put our trust since genrations, so why should the corporate world act different!

Although this might seem unfortunate for undergraduates seeking work experience, they do not have to worry as there is a downside of experience, which is age! While age discrimination is forbidden and illegal, many corporates do not put age requirements explicitly ,rather they do it implicitly.For a simple analogy to this would be , the horse race track- A young horse who has not raced many of the tracks, even might be unfamiliar with it will still fare better than and old limp horse, which casts a doubt on wether the horse will even finish the race or not! Hence companies while keeping experience as a plus point might think it irrelevant when they are getting the same eruditiy with a much younger and shining face!

Lastly, employers must also show a sense of morality and duty to ensure that the youth of the nation does not go demotivated and is given an equal chance as other applicants with more experience are and due to this trait being absent in many of the company giants, demotivated youth change their field , sometimes developing the trait of enterpreunership!This is where the term “young” enterpreuner has come from, but to be all honest it begs a simpel question: How can you manage someone, when you yourself have never been managed?! Hence , an uprise in startups and “young” enterpreuner has also increased the failing ratio of startups, to prevent this employers must not reject a future employee due to lack of experience, who might go even a more riskier path , which is enterpreunership.

In conculsion, Coroporates before posting their job requirements, must revisit their needs and the companys requirements, although they will not be blamed for expecting experienced applicants, they should keep a seperate standards and requirements for the young and less experienced job applicants, so they can also be assimilated into the corporate world ,wether it might be a lesser role or responsibility than the experienced applicant , but this will be a stepping stone for them.