It is more harmful to compromise one's own beliefs than to adhere to them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A belief is something related oneself. An upright person, following the rules and regulations of a nation might not compromise on his belief rather will adhere to it. though opponents may try to strike him, he will stand against all odds and will escape from such situations knowing that it is fatal. I agree on the fact that it is more harmful to compromise one's own beliefs than to adhere to them.

In india, children tend to grow up hearing the stories of Ramayana and Mahabharata from their grandparents. Right from childhood, they are instilled with good values and belief that should be accepted and used in personal life. Since it becomes predominant in the minds of kids at a very young age, it is very difficult to compromise for other’s personal gain. For example, christianity was spread to india, a country where a greater number of Hindus lived. Even though vast majority comprised of Hindu’s, india is known for its rich and cultural diversification whereby men and women of all caste, creed and religious belief dwell here. When there was an attack on christians with churches being demolished and bombs exploded, due to religious faith, most of them did not convert into another religion. In such a case, adhering to one’s belief tends to be harmful.

moreover, think of national leaders who gave their life in order to save us from atrocities. if they had compromised on non – violence acts, we would not be able to lead the comfortable life we enjoy now. Gandhiji, for instance, never bothered to give up satyagraha and continued to fight against the Britishers to get a new and independent india. All his efforts could have been futile had he compromised on his belief of a free nation worrying about the difficulties he was going to face.

moreover, Students who cheat on exams should try to rectify it as only good principles and values of life will take them to a better path. Nevertheless, consider the instance throughout the world where children are made to believe in the story of Santa Claus bringing gifts to them. they should understand the true picture that it is only their parents and relatives who bring gifts for them and not an imaginative person. if they don’t change their mindset after growing up, it will result in their friends and family members mocking them.

Thus, in a nutshell, the above points could be reiterated that, belief projects a person’s identity. adhering to it is less harmful that compromising on it. Therefore, to lead a righteous life, humans are expected to face the challenges of the world rather than to be reticent thinking about the dangers.