To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

A society is made up of groups of people belonging to several caste, creed, religion, language and other diverse factors. To study about the characteristics of a society, many things have to be taken into account. one of the cause could be attributed to the major cities. So, we cannot completely accept the given argument. The reasons are listed in the following paragraphs.

First of all, when we look at the culture of a city, we could see that cities are modernized with facilities in the form of infrastructures, schools and colleges equipped with the latest technologies, job opportunities both in the private and public sectors, state of the art resources and many more. people in the cities are exposed to greater learning and career in different fields. At the same time, one can witness people from different backgrounds staying in cities. For example, in Chennai city, even though people from rural backgrounds live here, it is epitome of how a society's characteristics could be reflected through cities. Secondly, to understand that studying the major cities alone does not suffice, take the example of people from rural backgrounds.

india comprises of many states with many communities. To know about india, it is not enough to know about its four metropolitan cities like Chennai, Delhi, Mumbai and Calcutta. Within these cities are people living with poor knowledge, less learning and with meagre income. Farmers are suffering to their extreme to repay their debts. Girls have no safety. Baggers are on the rise. Similarly, there are many who go to other countries for their higher education and future career prospects.

With these in view, it could be concluded that, since a society comprises of humans from diverse backgrounds, it is not enough to study the major cities alone. even though it could pavé way for a peripheral understanding of the society, it is vital to check every nook and corner of the information about a society.