It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are generated and preserved.

The issue statement says that mostly cultural traditions are generated and preserved in cities. As we all know that cultural traditions are the wealth and repersentative of affluency of any nation. According to my opinion, i m not wholly do agree with the statement as one cannot say that all the traditions are preserved in cities only. To explain my point of view, reasons are explained below;

Firstly, as we all know that traditions had started since the evolution of man. Man being a social being, lives in the society and make traditions according to their need and recreational value. Many of the traditions are followed from past while some are changed according to the need and time. Some old traditions are made in the villages and as the people migrant from villages to cities traditions go along with them. Thus merely the traditions are generated in villages and preserved there. For example love marriage in most parts of India is still not allowed. Villagers are the one who preserve their culture at any cost.

Secondly, with modernization as everything has changed it has affected traditions too. Moreover, as people in the cities are more educated and advanced they change traditions according to their need. Thus old traditions are modified in cities, from where further changes are carried out by next generations. The best example of this can be seen in punjab, as before marriage ladies perform giddha, but that is now replaced with dj and rock music and this changing tradition is somewhat also followed in villages. From where new traditions become followed.

Last but not least, we can say that primary generation of traditions was started in villages, from where they have been spread to the cities. It is the cities where further modification of traditions take place. People of villages strictly adhere to their traditions while those of cities are somewhat ready to change.

To sum i restate that primarily traditions are generated in villages and mostly preserved there while in cities due to modernization and advances in literacy rate people change these traditions according to their needs and their capability. Thus the villages are the basic roots of tradition where it is preserved and these people mostly avoid to change their tradition at any cost.