It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are generated and preserved.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In contemporary society it is widely believed that nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated in megalopolises. Although this viewpoint has many proponents, I cannot concur with it because as far as I am concerned national traditions are generated and preserved in small towns and rural areas. The reasons on which my stance is based will be discussed in more details below.

Perhaps, firstly we need to figure out an answer on a simple question. Why do people believe that national culture is created in metropolises? Probably, the belief is based on the fact, that a new culture is generated there but it possesses almost no national characteristics. If we take a look at Paris, New York, Moscow or any other metropolis, we will find the same cosmopolitan culture which is largely nationless. Furthermore, the conditions of life in cities keep no room for national traditions as well. Such cities as Los Angeles or London are homes for many millions of people who have different education, background, adhere to distinct confessions and belong to different nations. All those people have to work together, as a result they have to forsake their national traditions and adapt to new, cosmopolitan culture in order to co-exist and live in a limited area of cities. However, if nation's culture is not created and preserved in cities, from where is it come from?

The answer on this question is "rural areas and small towns". In fact, new culture with national color is produced in small and removed towns which have connections with outside world but this interaction is limited and relatively slow. In those conditions, a national culture absorbs the changes, it makes them part of it. For instance, traditionally in Russia food is prepared via an oven which is fueled by wood or coal; however, in today's reality many Russians have substituted the obsolete equipment and devices via new ones such as microwave and elective oven. Moreover, even recipes were adjusted for new products. However, all of those changes do not change the meaning of those actions. In other words, the Russian people have accepted the changes, but at the same time, they adhere to nation's traditions.

What is more, nation's culture is well preserved in rural areas and small towns as well. In fact, many of removed areas are not exposed to external impact and therefore they preserve nation's traditions in their primeval state. For example, a group of historians has recently published results of their journey to removed areas of Siberia; they have found villages which adhere to a branch of Christianity which was banned by a tsar in 1500s. The scholars manage to collect examples of songs, tales which were created many centuries ago and were well preserved by local residents. It is needed to say that this situation is not unique and people who live in removed and rural areas of the USA, Norway and Japan preserve the national traditions of those countries as well.

In conclusion, although many of us assert that nation's culture is generated and preserved in cities, we have demonstrated that the megalopolis's culture does not reflect nation’s mores and traditions. However, national culture is generated and preserved in small towns and villages which are not exposed to impact of outsiders. Therefore, I disagree with the issue.