It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

As a person grows up, he or she starts discovering new things and aspects about themselves. Individuals start to find their place in the universe and they try to fraternize with individuals with whom they share a common interest for something. It is primarily thorough our identification with social groups that we define ourselves. I agree with such an assertion, since in my opinion when a human identifies a certain quality about a certain group that he or she likes, in a way, it signals the human about the facets of the world that he or she is enthralled with. This helps an individual better understand about themselves and helps define their character. I will further elaborate on my position, with the help of a few examples, in the paragraphs below.

As adolescents, humans find social groups on the playground of their school or in the play area of their residential complex. In either case, kids usually form social groups, wherein the main distinction between the groups would be the kind of sport that they like to play. It can be possible that one group likes playing cricket, whereas the other group loves playing soccer. Nevertheless, in both these cases, the kids are defined by their penchant for the sports they love. A new kid, who has visited the playground for the first time will look at the various groups playing and then ultimately select the sport that he finds fascinating, or the one he loves, and will acquaint himself with the group that is playing that sport. Due to such an instance, the new kid knows the sport that he likes, and identifies a new aspect about himself.

Growing up through the years, humans mingle with various social groups, be it in their college or in the outside world. In colleges there are various social groups that are formed, such as the drama club, or the dance club and many more. As soon as a student enters college and starts looking for the various clubs that are currently running in his college, he might come across a club that he wishes to be a part of since the core concept of the club pleases him. He might be a avid follower of theater plays and might decide to join the drama club. These social affiliations help a person discover hidden aspects within themselves that he can work on and choose to pursue a career in. The person can wish to pursue a career in drama and who knows, he can become a successful actor. Such a discovery isn't possible unless we identify social groups and people with whom we share something in common.

As we grow up into mature adults, we often identify individuals in our own city that have a common interest such as ours. There can be social groups such as a group of supporters that follow the same football club as you do. Owing to such similarity, it can help a person enter such groups and discover aspects about himself that he was unaware about. It can also be the case that a person joins a bunch of people, who are watching a football match at a bar and find the team they are supporting attractive and you yourself develop a liking for the sport and the team. Instances such as these help you define yourselves, the things you like and which motivate you.

In sum, I strongly support the assertion that it is primarily thorough our identification with social groups that we define ourselves. Social groups can be responsible for helping us identify hidden aspects about ourselves. Such hidden interests can go about a long way in helping a person find himself and find peace with what he loves.