Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Decisions are made relying on the information that we observed either through the experiments or past activities. I totally disagree with the above statement that nostalgia about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today, however these activities really help to make core decisions.

Firstly, the advancement of technologies relies on the experimental data that were considered in the past in order to invent it. For instance, the working principle of mobile phone is similar with the telephone discovered by Graham Bell. However, the addition of new features in the mobile phone is due to necessity of people who desire to possess several devices in the same compact mobile phone. Thus, the new revolution of smart phone primarily depends upon the data or experiment of traditional mobile devices in order to make device even more aesthetic.

Secondly, medical science makes a progressive change in 21st century. The disease which were unable to treat in the past are treated with the invention of new equipment or medicinal devices. The mortality rate was high as people suffered to get treatment either in the simpler disease like fever. With the rapid revolution in medical fields, people are less worried about the disease and focus in earning money so that they can buy health system to treat themselves with the best medicines and medicinal doctors. For instance, Organ transplant was thought one of the rear medicinal treatment in the past however, it is the emerging field to treat disease effectively in case of burn, kidney failure as well as heart failure. All these processes rely on the information carried out in the past in order to make organ transplant successful. Similarly, the world is transferring in biotechnological research in order to cure disease where in the past, it is treated with the medicine developed by pharmaceutical industries. Pharmaceutical plants particularly depend on chemical in order to develop medicines and these medicines are used in order to control these diseases rather than cure them all completely. All new biotechnological treatments depend upon the cause, symptoms and curing elements and strains of viruses that had been in the past or even today in order to make effective treatment.

Thirdly, the consequences of apocalypses of past activities like world wars, civil wars and natural calamities helps to take preventive steps in order to make casualties minimum. For instance, First World war and Second World war had resulted many countries in order to suffer large destruction and suffers. Even the developed countries had to suffer great devastation which resulted in poverty, lack of livelihood and even great damage of economy. The consequences of two nuclear bombs in Hiroshima and Nagasaki even today that Japan is suffering about. Even the children born in these lands will inherent bear disable. The great damage caused by nuclear bomb in 1944 Ad has changed the concept of war and people of today’s world want to get rid of these devastating weapons in order to preserve peace, prosperity and humankind.

However, some may argue that knowing the danger of natural calamities may not prevent of these occurring but with the handful devices, if it is predictable of these unwanted apocalypses, a lot of suffering can be minimized by education and awareness, shifting people from target areas in order to prevent damage of life and property. For instance, People can be forbidden to visit near sea and inside sea at tides by setting alarms and using army forces. The consequences can be minimized by constructing walls around the seashores by preventing floods to move inside cities.

In conclusion, it is handy to consider past experiences and evidences in order to make important decisions by instantaneously or by adding information from today’s experiment in the past data.