Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The author claims that knowing the past or what happened in the past will not be beneficial when making important decisions which I strongly disagree with the claim. Decisions are mostly made basically from past experiences. The reasons for not supporting this claim are based on three major things.

Firstly, knowing about what happened in the past situation will help make one to make a good decision concerning the present situation. For instance, vaccines of HIV /AIDS which was once tested on South Africans years back caused a detrimental effect instead of being immunity to the virus. This occurrence , can affect one’s decision on vaccination. It will help a country or an individual to do more research of any vaccinations of virus.

Secondly, organizations or companies tend to make good decisions based on past experiences or past decisions. They tend to consider the most of the mistakes that they did that did not help the company to grow or to make profits. This is mostly called end of year review. This review help the company to be able to detect what went wrong and what decisions they made in the past that was beneficial or that was not beneficial. This practice enables the company to track the performance of every individual in the company.

Also, among married couples, knowing about each other’s past life will help keep their marriage.

Once, the couple is aware of what happened in the past lives of each other it will prevent disagreements among them. For instance, knowing the family history of each other will help them understand each other and live happily which will prevent them from divorcing.

In conclusion, one must realize one past mistakes to be able to make good decisions. One may agree with claim that knowing the past will not help in decisions making because sometimes past experiences can undermine one’s ability to do something. However, knowing about the past makes us stronger.

Therefore, this made me disagree on the author’s claim that, knowing the past will not help in making good decisions.