Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances times and places

Laws are the necessary factor which ensures peace and harmony in the society. It is under the roof of laws that people can live peacefully without anxiety and fear. Stringent laws impose a code of conduct to be followed by all the citizens, as well as it induces the sense of fear which will impede them from involving in crimes. Laws play a vital role in bringing equity among the people. A fixed law will uphold the principles of government and strive for the establishment of peace and goodwill, among all faction of people so that they will live in amity and friendship.

But the statement posited holds water in certain scenarios too. The validity of the statement is conditional. Consider the example of legalising abortion. Until a while ago, it was considered as a crime leaving no choice for the women to take up the most important decision in their life. But now that the law is abolished, it leaves the individuals with a choice to make the best decision. Likewise, a planned murder and a murder that accidentally happened for self-defence have to be visualised as extreme incidents. I believe that in the latter scenario - if there are reasonable evidences - the person involved has to be considered as a victim rather than a murderer and has to be exculpated.

But in all of the above examples, it is of great significance to ensure that the flexibility is not being exploited. The chances of increase in crime rates will be high when there is a possibility to justify the crime upon false claims. Considering such jeopardised situations, it is better to have an unwavering law system rather than a flexible one. However, there are exceptions. The change of one-child rule in China is an exemplar of the importance of flexibility of laws. Under this law, the couples could have only one child to control the population, as China is the most populated country in the world. But after the earthquake in which many people lost their lives, China has withdrawn the law. Flexibility has to be ensured to the entire population rather than just to a faction.

The security of people is vital and it is important to have strict laws to ensure the same. Considering the same, it is better to have laws that are rigid or fixed.