The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

With the rapid development of technologies, nowadays more and more high-tech products have become the necessities of people's life, from basic needs to personal enjoyment. Cars has been the must-have in a family, roadsters have been proved to be a status and money emblem of moguls. The phenomenon is particularly prevalent in today's China, in which people are proud of having luxuries like luxury car, watch and handbag. Other convenient devices like computers and smart phones also make people's life more efficiently than any time in the history, into which people are immerged. Indeed, luxuries and conveniences seem to be impairing the development of a strong and independent person to some extent. If they are equipped with right value system, people will develop stronger and more independent individuals in the environment of prolific physical life.

Luxury is a influx into daily life of people in China and regarded as an emblem of status and money by Chinese people, particularly by young people. In 2012, the consumption of luxuries in China had made up of a fourth in the total amounts of luxury consumption, one of the largest luxury consumption market in the world. Amongst these people, there are three groups extremely salient. It is the second generation rich and government official second generation who show off all sorts of such luxuries as Rolls-Royce, Ferrari, Chanel, Longines, Cartier, Gucci and go in and out high-end hotels——a kind of extremely sybaritic life, which is impairing their minds and health. Another group is city white-collar, who have a relatively high income, but as they unduly seek for high-level life, their incomes do not always fall out of expenditure:money nearly all spent on daily life like fashion clothing, cosmetics, watches as a way for white-collars to signal their upper mobility and coveting a sort of superficial life(vanity is eroding their minds). Most importantly, some students and low-income youngsters are trying to keep up with the trend of purchasing luxuries so that they are engaged in some immoral work like mistress or sell their organs like kidney, becoming more and more fickleness. Obviously, this kind of consumerism truly harms Chinese people, either psychologically or physically.

With the influx of technological products, modern people enjoy unprecedented conveniences than any time in the history, which seems that without these technological products they could not live any longer. Above all, computers, internet extremely lessen the labor of people and set people free from the chores, having more leisure time to do what they want to do. Today people spend more time on playing online games, listening music, watching network videos and other activities instead of studying or working hard. They know nearly anything happens in the world without going outdoors, although they read extensively reading, in fact they understand less, for this kind of skimming activity lets them pay less attention on one subject——however, deep reading is one means that one develops his critical thinking. They can send texting to anyone they want anytime and anywhere, needlessly face-to-face communications, which will impair their interpersonal ability in the real environment, for they do not need to pay their attention to others' body language any more. And so do other electronic devices such as wearable equipments, vehicles, electric devices. Consequently, if people continue to immoderately depend on this kind of conveniences, their independence will more or less decrease in the future.

After all, the phenomenon is in a small circle of human beings. And, negative effects though technological products have, it will still change people's life greatly, making them more convenient and more independent. As a matter of fact, the key to these effects is the man who use them, not the products themselves. So, it is necessary for people to construct a right set of personal value system, which will guide people to act properly and understand the world they live.

Faced with the temptation of the luxuries, people should have the resistance to them, especially when they don't have enough affordability at all, or purchase them, saying 'enough is enough'. Self-realization, self-restraint, charity should be set up for everyone. In this way, they will be less influenced by the environment and others. The rich second generation and government official second generation will donate their money to philanthropic institutions or help poor men solve fundamental problems in their life rather than abandoning them in a prodigal life. White-collars will exert their more effort on their work, striving for the success of their career. For those students and youngsters who follow the trend of consumerism at all costs, they should identify themselves, endeavoring for a glorious future instead of being a man only seeking for enjoyment.

Furthermore, it is also important for people to develop independence of their own. In economy, they should train their own ability of making money, not depending on their parents or other moguls, and learn to adjust their expense to their income and save money for rainy days. Another factor is that they should culture their independence of personality——independent judgment, capability of will, and healthy body. Moreover, not indulging themselves into network games and the entertainments of other virtual activities, they spend more time on exploring nature, sharpening interpersonal relationship, creativity, all of these enhancing their independent individuality.

In conclusion, with the continuous emergence of high-tech products, people will enjoy a higher-level and more convenient life, which will, in turn, further promote the perfection of individuality, both stronger character and independent personality.