The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Today's technological advancements, especially home devices enhanced with artificial intelligence brought a great deal of convenience to our lives. For example, you can just yell "Alexa, please order pizza for me, the usual!" and your pizza will be at your door in approximately 30 minutes. Thanks to gadgets such as navigation, we no longer bother about going to somewhere we have no idea at all. Online reservations, smartphones, smartwatches, coffee machines which makes your coffee at the exact time you set it... these technologies not only save time for us but also takes a great deal of burden from our shoulders. However, does this situation results in less capacitated, less-rounded, dependent people who cannot deal with real-life problems without the help of a smart technology?

Ever since ancient times, we have been developing new technologies to make our lives easier. For instance, after the industrial revolution, the jobs that require a great deal of effort and with maximum repetitions during the day -such as putting a particular nail on a particular part of the car system approximately 1000 times a day and working for 10-12 hours- is no longer the duty of the human beings, but the duty of the machinery. As a result, did this convenience turned them into less developed, dependent individuals? I doubt that. More importantly, almost the same thing has been going on today. We no longer deal with picking up the phone to order a pizza. The machinery -the smart devices- do it for us. I definitely do not think that such accommodation deteriorates my capacities such as independence or smart thinking.

In case of luxuries, however, the case devolves into a more intrinsic one. In a psychoanalytic aspect, I believe that the author is right to some extent. For instance, according to Jacques Lacan, a human baby suffers from frustration during the ages between 1 and 5 because of his or her being incapable of doing anything. The baby is constantly jealous of other people around, who can actually feed themselves or play on their own. According to Lacan, this is the reason we incessantly desire for new and more luxurious things: To compensate for what we think that we lack, to better our fictive, social identities that we think are fragmented. 13-year-old cries for days for a fire engine machine, even though he has 10 other fire engines at home. An advertisement specialist yearns for a Mercedes 2018, even though he already owns a Mercedes 2016. The human beings' desire for the more luxurious, bigger, more ostentatious stuff never ceases to exist. Furthermore, the number of luxuries that we as human beings witness today are greater than ever before, our urge to get more turns into a more pathetic, desperate situation. For instance, 30 years ago, the cars you could get was limited. You could get a carriage, a Ford, or any other car in between. However, today, this range goes from cars that worth 500 dollars to a million, or even more! What I am trying to say is, at some point, I agree with the author, especially in psychoanalytic aspects. Since the luxuries and conveniences of life are greater than ever, the human beings have to compansate for their crippled identities with greater stuff, to which most of us have limited access to. Moreover, this pathetic and hopeless urge is, according to psychoanalytic experts, result in desperate humanbeings who are not happy with who they are and we see them especially in the realm of Instagram in which they portray themselves as richer, better, prettier and different personas.

As a result, the human mind's tendency to see money and luxuries as a device to complement the identity is an indispensable urge, according to psychoanalysts. Thus, as the luxuries given to us by the 21th-century world are greater than ever, the big gap between different hierarchal groups result in alienation in the unfortunate people and thus, might result in less developed human beings. However, I think this is not the case with conveniences. The new technologies that make our lives easier, in my humble opinion, are not as effective as to deteriorate our capabilities such as being independent or strong.