Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through lar

The claim of people's attention spans getting shorter as a consequence of mass media and internet isn't unfounded. Cults trending worldwide based on a few news articles are commonplace in this age. As more and more information is available digitally, accessibility to these pieces of ideas is quite high, and thus, populace at large can be swayed away without much hinderance. However, more information does not imply more understanding, for gaining insight takes a deeper level knowledge, instead of a shall broad-faced approach, which is the way-to-go in the new age.

Widespread use of whatsapp messaging has led to seamless dissemination of information pertaining to personal, general, entertainment and other genres. Consider the usual notification one gets on this platform: on an average, I tend to receive a large amount of sensational news which is either unfounded, or apocryphal. What this cult ensures through broadcasting these lurid news and messages is entertainment; taking cognizance of a plethora of quotidian events round the nation and the world, but not the real understanding or the historical, cultural or political implications. Thereby, though, the internet can serve broad ideas quickly to a greater audience, it does not necessarily create more informed individuals, merely more aware citizens.]

In addition to the dubious information that one comes across the internet, the cases of web advertisement is an equally interesting topic to consider. Again the commonality from the former example, is the flamboyant, eye-catching captions and the background to arrest the person's attention. The average bloke being aroused by such appeals, is tricked into the sales the company is making through the website, which in many cases isn't as economical on paper as it is displayed on the ad, but nevertheless, the customer is defeated by the cunning. What this displays is that not only that people on large get distracted fancy claims, but more importantly, that their facile knowledge can get them into all sorts of trouble.

Although, it might be wise to see the limitations of electronic information received though the mass media, to nullify their benefits would be a bit conservative. Having silicon embedded five inch devices in pockets, one can get a variety of news, information which affect us in our daily life. For example, suppose that a house in the locality was robbed. Although, the media would be making far-fetched fanciful claims about the same, we might not know the real reason for the incident. But, to know about the implications of a police enquiry, and that the road in that street is bblocked, we can take alternate rooute to our offices, in which case, the mass media information was helpful to us.