Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

Has the overall effect of mass media and internet been positive? While some people believe that mass media and internet might have caused people's attention spans to get shorter, most of the people believe that the overall effect of mass media and internet has been positive. I believe that mass media and internet has enhanced our ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what's important and has had a positive effect.

One of the chief reasons for my fundamental agreement with the author is that the large quantities of information that the internet provides us gives us different perspectives on the same issue and allows us to analyze an issue thoroughly. For instance, if the topic is debatable, say we are deciding on a mobile phone to be bought and want to compare various phones as to which is better. There might be different explanations for the different sides of the topic. Thus, we can weigh both sides after understanding their explanations and decide wisely according to our requirements on which phone to buy. Decision making becomes better with the help of internet. Thus, the effect of mass media and internet has been positive.

Another reason for my view is that mass media allows us to go through large chunks of information in short and interesting videos. For instance, if we are looking for a tutorial on machine learning, there are long documentations and research papers available. But the information in these text documents are better explained in a simple manner in videos posted by experts around the world. Thus, we are able to go through large chunks of information in short amount of time and find what's important.

Some might argue that because of the internet people are less able to focus on one thing. Yet people are able to focus on the important things rather than focusing on each and every thing. After weighing both sides, we can conclude that the effect of mass media and internet has been positive overall.

For all the above reasons, I believe that the effect of Mass Media and Internet has been positive overall.