Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

Internet is a major invention recent years. It has completely changed the lifestyle of people. Earlier, major source of information used to be either newspapers or radio or television but now a days people are over-dependent on internet, mass media and social media. Now-a-days, people are not able to survive without internet and social media even for a day, they keep themselves available and connected with internet all the time. Internet is huge pool of information and knowledge, all the information is available there on internet and even the latest information is updated immediately on internet.

Since, people feel their day to be shorter, they spend lot of time in traffic, travelling, shopping and other things, they feel they are left with very less time. Thus, they tend to save time from each activity they do. For example, In older times, people used to spend hours reading the news-papers, but now people use mobile applications like In-Shorts, Google-News etc which brief them about all the recent stories immediately. Therefore, people have become habitual of spending less time over an activity and they just can't focus on one thing for longer, making their attention span shorter.

However, Like any other invention, internet has its own pros and cons. People have learnt to extract the related or interested

and important information from the ocean of knowledge. In few minutes, they are able to get updated with all recent stories of the world. Nevertheless, though it makes them updated with all the information in shorter time and it has become easier for them to take out significant information from flush of information available, they don't get to know about the things in deep, they miss the profound knowledge on any topic which is somewhat not expected. There is a saying, "Half knowledge is always dangerous".

Conclusively, internet and mass media has great impact on people and their lifestyle in both good as well bad ways. One side, people have become faster to go through huge data and bring out the important knowledge from it, knowing more things in shorter span, on the other side, people's attention span or capability of focusing on one thing is degraded. They don't have information but not the knowledge about any topic. The have become "master of none, but jack of all" which is also not desired.