Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In today's world media and internet is the essential component in communication. The prompt states that internet and mass media has positive effects. People's attention have been shorter for a particular incident. In my opinion, I agree with the statement and argue that communication is widely used and people can sort out what are the real facts.

To begin, internet is the major stream for communication. A person who is sitting in his room can see what is happening in the other side of the world. For instance, recently India's research center ISRO has launched a rocket to study the properties of the moon. They have live telecasted the whole journey. The example suggest that because of the internet usage everything is available for a human being.

Further, nowadays people have access to vast range of information. People are now able to see what is happening the world clearly because of the mass media. For instance, Amazon forest was on fire and no one knows till 2 weeks. But the moment a person got to know, the news has spread all through the world within minutes. This example illustrates the power of media and how good it is when it is used in a right way.

There are number of fake news spread all over the world. Especially in social media where fake news is spread and people believe them. However, because of number of applications available such as Inshorts etc people can dig it up if the specific news is true.

However, there are disadvantages of the internet and media as many people are misusing it for their own interests, but when used in a right way, there is nothing better than internet or media. Previously, news was recondite but now it is all available in the internet. People can google things which they don't understand