"The most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed

to particular principles and objectives. Any leader who is quickly and easily influenced by shifts

in popular opinion will accomplish little."

Leadership is one of the most sought after personality traits in modern world. Be it in job or academic interviews, the test of leadership is one such criteria almost all the candidates in all cases are judged against. This limns the importance leadership has in our society and professional aspects of our life. The adherence to certain established principles and objectives does play a significant role in the efficacy of the leadership one evinces. My views align with the claim for three salient reasons.

Everyone looks upto a leader for directions and guidance. If the leader is wavering between or is subject to vacillation because of precarious shifts in the popular opinion, it confounds the team of people looking upto the leader. For example if a leader of hunting tribe is vacillating between the choices hunt he thinks they should pursue, it leaves the hunting party even more perplexed as to what to look out for. Instead they might end up losing up on the hunting options as a whole because of the precious time ans resources that were lost meanwhile. Had the leader had a predetermined hunt in mind for the day they could've gathered more food and saved time and resources to go for the other ones after. This analogy helps to show that such indecision and lack of firmness can lead to losses on the part of the team and the team as a whole might lose out on great chances of success.

The credibility of the leader becomes questionable, if the leader is influenced easily by popular opinions. For example if the team members find that their leader is susceptible to variations in popular opinion it may be discouraging for the team to trust the leader with a definite view and vision for team's success. The leader's susceptibility to popular opinion may result him into condoning rival opinions that might bifurcate his team, as he or she lacks his own definite set of principles and objectives and fails to make them incumbent upon the team.

The team members will take an advantage of the infirmity of this leadership to necessitate their individual views and opinions. This will result to tumult and contempt within the team and ultimately lead to the team falling apart. In a team there always are discordant elements and they are glued together along with the others by the principles and objectives of the team that are core to the team's success. The leader is the one who does the metaphorical binding of the team members by these principles and objectives.

In sum, a leader's inconsistencies in being aligned with the principles and objectives of a team is deleterious for the team and will lead to ineluctable breakup. Thus the above reasons delineate the problems that might arise due to the inconsistencies and why and one should mostly adhere to a set of premediated principles to ensure success and accomplishment.