A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

While if the students throughout the country study same national curriculum until they enter college, every student in a country gets equal opportunities to develop their skills and are measured by same standards. Following same national curriculum also helps students to get broader knowledge and overview of all states of the country. But, following same national curriculum doesn’t help students to indulge in gaining profound native knowledge pertaining to their own region.

Firstly, the basic responsibility of educational system is to impart its students the skill of reading, writing and speaking to communicate with people around them and gain knowledge from their surroundings. But, national curriculum of many countries doesn’t include native language as a compulsory subject. So, students who study national curriculum cannot write and read their own mother tongue, they can only speak. To exemplify, in India the national curriculum includes Hindi and English languages and doesn’t include any language of its state. Hence, particularly in Southern India, where each state has a specific native language, the students cannot read their native newspapers, books and even names of shops, roads written in native language.

Secondly, but in this modern world, every country has itinerant families, staying in one state for few years and then shifting to other state as parents of the families get transferred from state to state. For example in India military families cannot stay continuously more than 5-6 years in a state, because the parents who do military jobs often get transferred from a state to other state in mid of an academic year. In such circumstances the kids of these families can continue their education without dropping an academic year in schools of any state which follow same national curriculum.