A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

There is a famous quote by Albert Einstein that says "everybody is a genius but if you judge a fish on it's ability to climb a tree, it will spend it's whole life thinking it is stupid." Every student is unique, they learn in their own way, each one has their own interests, and they all have a unique set of skills. If every student had the same curriculum until they enter college there would be a gigantic disadvantage for some and a large advantage for others. Learning should be a tailored experience for each child.

If one child was extremely interested in and skilled at science but hated the arts and did poorly in those classes it is reasoned to believe it is fair that the child's course load should be heavily based in the science field. If there was one set curriculum, this student might not get to focus on science classes because he has to take multiple arts. This would not only stunt this individual's learning but also ill-prepare them for their transition to college where they would mainly take classes in their major.

Of course the opposite side can make the argument that by having one curriculum followed by the whole nation would force students to develop different skill sets. This idea is a pleasant and unrealistic one. Children and young adults will almost always rebel against what they are forced to do. By making them learn something they do not want to they will likely resent it for the rest of their lives. If the student was able to choose on their own they would be more likely to have an open mind about different areas of interest.

One curriculum for an entire nation just does not make sense. Each state has their own laws, each city has their own traditions, and each home has their own values. Their is no reason to believe school would be the one place that a generalized system followed by an entire nation would benefit anyone.