The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author here neglects to provide substantial evidence to reason the switch back to weather and local news. First, they state that "...most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news." Nowhere does the author mention a number or ratio of how many complaints are being received. Simply claiming that the majority of the complaints received are about the local news and weather does not mean that hundreds of complaints are coming in. There could have been something as small as three complaints and if two of them were about local news and weather it could be stated as the majority. If this majority of complaints number is a small fraction of listeners it would severely weaken this argument. On the other hand, if the complaint number was a large range it would strengthen this argument greatly.

The next detail missing from this argument is the ratings. The author mentions at the end of the argument that they should switch back to the former level of weather and local news to attract more viewers. Despite making this claim they never actually mention a decline in viewers. It is important to consider the number of viewers before and after the switch was made and the overall ratings at each point. If the ratings and viewer count were higher before the switch than the authors argument is well reasoned but if they were lower the argument is weakened.

The last vital piece of evidence missing from this argument is the reason for cancellation from local businesses. Although it can be assumed that local businesses cancelling their advertisements would likely be from the decline in local news, an assumption is not a sufficient piece of evidence. The author should go in depth to talk to the business owners to find the reason behind the cancellation and determine how it affects the radio station. If they cancelled for the assumed reason, the author's argument is warranted, but if they cancelled for another reason the author's argument is weakened.