The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Instilling competition in young people creates a loner perspective, where they not only prefer to do things on their own but they feel as if they must do everything on their own. This mentality does not integrate properly into any role in society, especially a leadership one. As a whole, humans have created a society that is codependent on each other. Although being to do everything yourself may seem like a nice idea, it is a completely unrealistic and disadvantageous one. When one person does not have the skill or born talent to do something, they bring it to someone who can. This system creates a world where everyone combines their talents and skills to make everything the best possible version it can be.

Competition can instill a fear in young people that leads them to believe they are unable to trust others. In doing this, they will likely isolate themselves from the rest of the world. A person that is unable to trust or communicate with the rest of the population makes a very poor leader. Say a young man or woman is taught at a young age that everything is a competition and the only way to get ahead in life is to win those competitions. Now say that person grew up and decided to run for a position in government, yes their focus on competition may help them win an election but what about after that? They have no sense of working as a team so they would not want to listen to the public. They would struggle to work with the other members of congress, house of representives, etc.

On the other hand is the idea that competition pushes young people to strive for an excellence that they may not have before. Competition can be a vry useful tool to put help young generations find out what they are capable of when there is something to gain or lose. This strategy is a clever one but only if used at appropriate times and sparingly. If competition is the sole and main sense instilled in young people, they will likely over exert themselves and go through an early burn out or plateu.

Cooperation is an important part of society. It allows people to have the best versions of the things around them and allows them to perform as the best versions of themselves. Teaching youth to understance how to cooperate with their peers will prepare them for how to accomplish their goals and still work with the people surrounding them.