Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student’s field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The majority of students entering universities have a selected major or an idea of a major that interests them. These individuals should be allowed to choose their own course load and what it contains. If one student wants to study Biology there is no reason for their education of the sciences to be limited because they are required to take a class in the arts. Forcing a student to take a variety of courses outside of their field of study consumes valuable time where they can be learning more about their area of interest and being better prepared for future jobs in that field.

The students that are entering universities with no intended major or idea of a possible field of study are, of course, not going to be affected in the same way as the others. Although it can be said that this group of individuals can benefit from taking a variety of courses, they should not be mandated to do so. Permitting them to make this decision on their own makes it easier to transition into finding a specific area of interest tailored for the individual. For example, if someone without a major begins to enroll in courses they believe might benefit them and discovers one that they love the arts, they should be able to continue in that pursuit of arts without being distracted and derailed by other unnecessary courses.

Finally, It is also important to consider the possibility that allowing these students to make their own choices in this matter will prepare them for the future. Nobody will be forcing them to branch out after college and if they do not learn how to do so on their own accord, they probably never will.