The president of Grove College has recommended that the college abandon its century-old tradition of all-female education and begin admitting men. Pointing to other all-female colleges that experienced an increase in applications after adopting coeducation, the president argues that coeducation would lead to a significant increase in applications and enrollment. However, the director of the alumnae association opposes the plan. Arguing that all-female education is essential to the very identity of the college, the director cites annual surveys of incoming students in which these students say that the school's all-female status was the primary reason they selected Grove. The director also points to a survey of Grove alumnae in which a majority of respondents strongly favored keeping the college all female.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The recommendation being made by the president is that the college should adopt coeducation. His primary reasoning for this is the observation that other schools who have done so had an increase in applications. Although this may be a well-reasoned statement it is lacking important evidence needed to deem the recommendation as reasonable. Were the new applicants to these schools more qualified than the past ones or was the simply more applicants in numbers? If the people who applied to these schools only after abolishing all-female education were less prestigious candidates compared to those who applied before the transitions then this would be an unreasonable recommendation. The saying that more is not always equivalent to better is true in many cases, including this particular issue.

The next questions that should be surfaced is the number of females that said the primary reason for them attending this school was the all-female education. The statement is made that in past surveys they have recorded incoming students stating that this was the primary reason they came to the college, but nowhere does it say if the majority of incoming students felt this way. If only a few students had made this claim and the majority of them did not feel as if they would be affected by coeducation, the reasoning could very well stand behind the recommendation being carried through with.

Lastly, the question of the alumni opinions should be highly taken into consideration when debating this proposed transition. Are any of the alumni pro-coeducation? Will the others still donate and support the institution if the change is carried out? Keeping these alumni happy is very important because many schools depend on their support and donations. Finding where they all stand in detail can help determine is this recommendation is a reasonable one.