A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Whether to study something about everything or everything about something is a long going debate that many wise men couldn't solve. However to ensure a more unifying and homogenous high school graduates, one curriculum for all students sounds like a reasonable decision.

The first reason a common curriculum for all school-going students is much beneficiary is because this will help them to explore different subjects before they enter into a more specific major focused program in universities. Many students choose one path and only in the midway through they realize how not to so passionate they are about the chosen subject. Also, for an 18-some young adult it's hard to decide whether he will still like physics when he may have never got to explore his linguist skill and thus ambivalent about liberal arts. When a student will have access to an umbrella curriculum under which science, liberal arts, social science and commerce courses are taught, the student will have sound background knowledge to then decide career path better.

The gateway to a high or medium ranked college is very narrow and only the best students get the chance. When there's discrepancy in the national curriculum, some of the students are ignored who follow different curriculum. This is not only unfair to those students, but also creates a divergent generation. For example, in Bangladesh, the high school going students are mainly of three curriculum, Bengali medium, English Medium and the Islamic Medium. Since the lion-share of the students follow Bengali curriculum, all the major college admission tests and job entrance tests are based on their curriculum. This results in outcasting the other two medium students. But common curriculum will make sure everyone gets same kind of education in school so this will create a level playing field for them.

Nowadays, most of the subjects are integrated and more involving than before. Since, most classical science subjects have been studied extensively so far, now the applied science is imminent and thus interdisciplinary subjects are emerging. A few decadeds ago no one would think of an Economist working in a hospital. Or, a Financial Analyst won't be doing engineering problem solving. To embrace such contrasting path fully, one must have some basic knowledge about the other subject. So, a common and integrated curriculum would increase the efficacy of the students.

However, there are some cons of such implications. Since this is a very competitive time, so many students would struggle to do equally well in all the subjects in high school and might feel more pressure. Also, without ensuring same teaching faculties for all kind of schools and towns, such congression will cause further chaos and exacerbate the current situation. So before adopting to a common curriculum all kinds of education institutes and students must be brought under rules and regulations.