Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.

While loss of advertising contracts after implementing a new strategy may make the tactics seem the conspicuous culprit of it, there may be more hidden causes to it. There are many background information missing, like whether there has been any change in viewers number and in the locality. Also, detailed data regarding the complaints from the audience and reasonings provided by the advertisers are also wanting in the memorandum. As a result, the statement that says the station should restore the previous time allocation is not just enough.

Firstly, there is no clear indication whether after applying the new tactic there has been any increase or decrease in the audience number. Without this background information it is hard to assess how significant the complaints are. If there is a precipitous increase in the audience numbers, then the increased complaints are justified. Also, there is no mention about previous complaints they used to get. A lack of complaints can mean two things, either the viewers are content with the tv content or there are not enough viewers to actually evaluate the television programs. Moreover, The cancellation of contracts from local advertisers can be due to many reasons. The number of television stations available at the time can be a reason. Also there can be other internal changes from the advertisers' ends that cause such cancellation. Overall the television station should only be concern if there's a decrease in TRP as well as increased complaints.

Then comes the question, whether there has been any major issue in the particular locality that is more important than the national issues. If the local community is facing any particular unique problem which doesn't affect the whole nation, they will obviously demand more news about the local concerns than the central ones. Again, the timing is crucial since people will be more concerned with weather if there are any storms, snowfall or raining updates. These are of more importance to people late at night than any national news that can wait. So, the manager should carefully scrutinize when people mostly complained. If they find the timing to be complementary to any of the reasons stated above, they should simply allocate more time for weather updates and/or local news on those occasions.

In conclusion, the television station should reevaluate the whole situation before considering to restore thier previous time schedule. There should be a well balance of local and national news. And late night weather updates should be the top priority in times of natural disasters, while on other times the timing can be minimized.