The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition

A true leader is a person who guides the group to become more efficient, inspires his people and most importantly is respected by all. These qualities can hardly be achieved in a competitive society. Thus I agree with the statement that a sense of cooperation, instead of competition can help the society to prepare its youth for future leadership.

The first reason, a sense of cooperation works better than of competition is because it allows diversity to flourish. When a group of people is working on a single agenda to become the best among all, they often conform to one particular type instead of nurturing their own uniqueness. In competition, there are certain rules and requirements. To meet those, the candidates will be fixated on those rules only. Whereas when these people will be inflicted by sense of cooperation, they will grow as a complement to one another. They will help each other to draw out their own best feature. In this way, we will know who can actually lead his followers to become a better candidate which is the ultimate quality of a leader.

When a class is tested individually to do well in an exam, every student will focus only on their own betterment. Same exam, if conducted in group-wise way, overall performance will improve, because each group will have one or more natural dominants who will push all his/her mates to perform better. This not only reinforces the fact that leadership is developed in times of cooperation, but also points out that leaders must motivate their followers. Such quality can be instilled in young adults when they will be taught to help each other from an early age. Unfortunately the nature of competition lacks that very feature. A true leader is deferentiated by most because of his benevolent characteristics. When people face constant competition, they become self-centric and view everyone else as another obstacle in his way to success. Such mentality leads to hatred among them. As a result leaders born out of competition are often not great leader, rather a churlish higher authority with the power to rule his subordinate.

However, a sense of competition is also required to some extent. Without constant competition to with one's own self, self-improvement is impossible. Also moderate competition under supervision also creates an environment of learning.