A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Which is the better approach to educate students before they join university: teaching same national curriculum or instilling different curriculums? While some of the critics might argue that a nation should design its courses as per the local milieu. Clearly, students should be taught diverse curriculum as per the local culture, tradition, and several other factors, they contend. However, as far as I am concerned, I adjure to teach same national curriculum to the students until they reach the tertiary level education.

Critics, supporting the opposite notion of this argument, might argue that during the early age of a child, he should be made well apprised of his local culture, tradition, and the environmental setting. Therefore, curriculum - before the university study - should be devised in such a way which enables a child to understand him thoroughly, recognizing his culture, tradition - which ultimately familiarizes him of his milieu, and hence contributes to recognize him the actual he. However, this judgement is rife with fallacies. Students who take national curriculum are also able to make out their culture, and the social settings. I, for example, am one of the student who took national curriculum during my early age; of course, I understand my social setting and I have further knowledge about other communities and their culture too. It means, studying same national curriculum have extra benefits, isn't it?

Now, consider the aspect of the argument I adhere: "a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college". There are few fundamental skills that is imperative to impart in all students during their early phase of learning. For example, during primary classes, students should learn same thing - like writing alphabetical letters and real numbers. Without studying these elementary courses, they won't be able to perform better in the future. In such stage, if these things are not taught, what else would be taught, if different curriculum would have been allowed? The same course would have been taught, right? As a result, advocating for different curriculum for such students is not logical cogent.

Similarly, before entering university, students learn all subjects: in Nepal we cover almost all basic concept of most of the major fields. Finally, we get enough time - and knowledge too, to decide the subject in which we want to specialize. For instance, I studied different courses during my secondary level and I opted to carryout my life ahead in physics, finally. Today, I think I took a good decision and one must be aware of the factor which assisted me to take this better decision, that is, my courses of secondary level. I studied concepts of different subjects, and finally elected physics as my major, for a tremendous fountain of interest emerged inside me toward this field.

To conclude, a nation should persuade all of its students to take same national curriculum before joining college. Contrary to the feeble arguments of critics, taking national curriculum has many vantages: some of the robust examples mentioned above (based on my own life experiences) are enough to substantiate this position.